MTN Press Office
News About Us Image Gallery Contact Us MTN Website


Media Releases

30 October 2015


Nigeria: NCC suspends regulatory services for MTN

According to a report via The Leadership, the Nigeria Communications Commission (NCC) has suspended all regulatory services to MTN Nigeria. The reports reveals that the suspension will be enforced until the mobile operator pays a fine of USD $5.2 billion in connection with unregistered SIM cards.

The reports revealed that the NCC said unregistered SIM cards “pose a grave security risk to the country” and used the recent kidnapping of the former finance minister, Chief Olu Falae, as an example of this risk. It said the kidnappers used MTN SIM cards and MTN was unable to provide any registration data for those SIMs.

The Leadership quoted an NCC document that stated: “MTN’s persistent violations” had forced the regulator to impose “the unprecedented sanction of suspending all regulatory services to MTN”. The NCC says MTN faces a rebuke for 28 accumulated infractions. This unprecedented fine is indicative of the magnitude of the transgression and the seriousness with which the NCC and the authorities are approaching this issue. This is according to a report via TelecomPaper.

The NCC had said in the report that it is also more likely to ensure that the willful non-compliance by MTN ceases. The regulator alleges that MTN failed to comply with an NCC and security agencies directive to deactivate improperly registered subscribers within a seven-day deadline ending on 11 August.






Bridget Bhengu: Senior Manager - PR and Communications, MTN SA

Cell: 083 212 1964 / E-mail:

Mamello Raborifi: PR Specialist, MTN SA

Cell: 083 214 5681 / E-mail:


Launched in 1994, the MTN Group is a multinational telecommunications group, operating in 22 countries in Africa, Asia and the Middle East. The MTN Group is listed on the JSE Securities Exchange in South Africa under the share code: “MTN.” As of 30 June 2014, MTN recorded 215 million subscribers across its operations in Afghanistan, Benin, Botswana, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Cyprus, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Republic, Iran, Liberia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo (Congo Brazzaville), Rwanda, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Uganda, Yemen and Zambia. Visit us at and