MTN Press Office
News About Us Image Gallery Contact Us MTN Website


Media Releases

26 October 2015


MTN Nigeria fined USD $5.2 billion by NCC

According to a report via BBC News, MTN Nigeria has been fined USD $5.2 billion by Nigeria’s Communications Commission (NCC).

The report revealed that MTN was fined for non-compliance with a deadline set out by the NCC to disconnect all non-registered sim cards.

The move follows accusations by mobile phone users that the regulator had failed to bring operators to account for poor services to subscribers, the report revealed.

According to the report, MTN Nigeria said it was studying the letter sent to it by the regulator and will respond as soon as possible. A senior official of the company said it was in talks with the regulator over the fine and hoped to resolve the matter.

The report further revealed that some Nigerians said that they wanted the regulator to address poor network signals provided by telecoms companies in the country. Additionally, they want more sanctions on firms to encourage them to improve signals and the quality of service in the country.

Statistics from the NCC indicates that Nigeria, a country with estimated population of more than 170 million, has close to 150 million mobile phones.

According to, shares in MTN extended their losses to more than 10 percent and traded down 9.3 percent lower at 173 rand by 1236 GMT (14:36 SA time).






Bridget Bhengu: Senior Manager - PR and Communications, MTN SA

Cell: 083 212 1964 / E-mail:

Mamello Raborifi: PR Specialist, MTN SA

Cell: 083 214 5681 / E-mail:


Launched in 1994, the MTN Group is a multinational telecommunications group, operating in 22 countries in Africa, Asia and the Middle East. The MTN Group is listed on the JSE Securities Exchange in South Africa under the share code: “MTN.” As of 30 June 2014, MTN recorded 215 million subscribers across its operations in Afghanistan, Benin, Botswana, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Cyprus, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Republic, Iran, Liberia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo (Congo Brazzaville), Rwanda, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Uganda, Yemen and Zambia. Visit us at and