MTN Press Office
News About Us Image Gallery Contact Us MTN Website


Media Releases

06 July 2015


MTN South Africa CEO throwing in the towel?

MTN South Africa has taken quite a few blows these past few months. In May 2015, MTN was struck down by an ongoing strike led by the Communication Workers Union (CWU), which crippled its call and service centres, as well as its distribution offices.

In June 2015, MTN South Africa had filed criminal charges against CWU members, who allegedly attacked an MTN retail outlet. The attackers allegedly assaulted and intimidated staff in the process; however, the CWU stated that it could not be held responsible for the actions of members who do not form part of the official union protest.

Now in July 2015, MTN has taken another strike related blow, as numerous reports have stated that CEO of MTN South Africa, Ahmad Farroukh, is ready to quit only 10/11 months into his role.

According to a report by the Sunday Times, it is said that Farroukh announced his plans to resign from his current position last month – due to being unable to end the strike action at the company. While MTN has not officially commented on Farroukh’s resignation, the report suggests that the resignation has not been “officially accepted.”

Additional reports have revealed that MTN is expected to make an announcement regarding the South African operation as well as Farroukh’s resignation.






Bridget Bhengu: Senior Manager - PR and Communications, MTN SA

Cell: 083 212 1964 / E-mail:

Mamello Raborifi: PR Specialist, MTN SA

Cell: 083 214 5681 / E-mail:


Launched in 1994, the MTN Group is a multinational telecommunications group, operating in 22 countries in Africa, Asia and the Middle East. The MTN Group is listed on the JSE Securities Exchange in South Africa under the share code: “MTN.” As of 30 June 2014, MTN recorded 215 million subscribers across its operations in Afghanistan, Benin, Botswana, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Cyprus, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Republic, Iran, Liberia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo (Congo Brazzaville), Rwanda, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Uganda, Yemen and Zambia. Visit us at and